Terroir

At the heart of Bordeaux terroir

Overlooking the Garonne, the Côtes de Bordeaux area begins just south of Bordeaux to the village of Cadillac. Dry white wines are sold as Bordeaux AOC and sweet wines under the Cadillac appellation. The red wines of Côtes de Bordeaux are colourful and powerful. Although all kinds of wine are produced in the area, the Côtes de Bordeaux gradually built its image and reputation.

Located in the heart of the land, the Château de Pic dominates the valley of the Garonne and can enjoy an exceptional view. The vineyards surrounding the château covers approximately 40 hectares of hillside that consists of deep gravely soil allowing heat to stack on a clay and limestone subsoil with rock outcrops small inliers. This particular structure is an excellent natural drainage of the gravel and clay ridges. These soils are fundamental to the final complexity of our wines.

Regarding the vines, although the traditional grape varieties is a quasi-equilibrium between Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon which combines flexible and austere tannins, new development plans will include less common varieties such as Cabernet Franc and Malbec to bring delicate aromas and facilitate wine aging. This restoration should allow to preserve better the tradition of assembling wines in the Bordeaux region.

In this privileged location, the grapes reach excellent maturation and the resulting wine is more complex.

Le Terroir

Au cœur du terroir bordelais

Surplombant la Garonne, le terroir des Côtes de Bordeaux commence juste au sud de Bordeaux jusqu’au village de Cadillac. Les vins blancs secs sont vendus comme Bordeaux AOC et les vins doux sous l’appellation Cadillac. Les vins rouges des Côtes de Bordeaux sont colorés et puissants. Bien que toutes sortes de vin soient produites dans la zone, l’appellation Côtes de Bordeaux construit peu à peu son image et sa notoriété.

Situé au cœur du terroir, le Château de Pic domine la vallée de la Garonne et bénéficie d’une exposition exceptionnelle. Le vignoble qui entoure le château s’étend sur environ 40 hectares d’un coteau constitué de graves profondes permettant l’accumulation de la chaleur sur un sous-sol argilo-calcaire où le rocher affleure par endroit. Cette structure particulière constitue un excellent drainage naturel de ces croupes argilo-graveleuses. Ces sols sont un élément fondamental de la complexité finale de nos vins.

Côté vigne, bien que l’encépagement traditionnel soit un quasi-équilibre entre Merlot et Cabernet Sauvignon alliant souplesse et austérité des tanins, le nouvel aménagement prévoit d’inclure des cépages moins courants comme le Cabernet Franc ainsi que le Malbec afin d’apporter finesse aux arômes ainsi que de faciliter le vieillissement du vin. Cette restauration devrait permettre de préserver au mieux la tradition d’assemblage des vins dans la région bordelaise.

Dans ce site privilégié, les cépages atteignent une excellente maturation et le vin qui en découle est d’autant plus complexe.