Estate

Birth of the Estate

In 1152, Aquitaine fell to the advance of England until 1453 after the remarriage of Eleanor of Aquitaine with Henry Plantagenet, also know as Henry II of England. Therefore, Bordeaux wines benefited from this new market. Bordeaux wine was adopted as a table wine by the kings of England.

The origin of Château de Pic is unclear and is attributed to the family of Giovanni Pico della Mirandola when he visited Guyenne. However, the noble house called «Pic» is mentioned in notary texts back in 1561 as the property of Guillaume Peyrat, Advisor to the Parliament, by which time most of the castle was built.  At that time, the main production was “claret”, a clear wine made from a blend of red wine with white wine and intended primarily for English tables.

At the end of the sixteenth century, Château de Pic became a two stairway tower and occupied almost 50 hectares and the majority was devoted to vineyards, as it was in its early stage. Also, like most producers of Bordeaux wines, the production was directed more towards black wine (the equivalent for today’s red wine) under the influence of the Dutch while continuing the production of “claret”.

During the late twentieth century, Château de Pic underwent many improvements, including a complete restoration of the vineyards and buildings, to suit  better the needs of modern life.

Le Château

Naissance du domaine

En 1152, l’Aquitaine tombe sous la coupe de l’Angleterre jusqu’en 1453 suite au remariage d’Aliénor d’Aquitaine avec Henri Plantagenêt, plus connu sous le nom d’Henri II. Les vins de Bordeaux bénéficient alors de ce nouveau marché. Le bordeaux est ainsi adopté comme vin de table par les rois d’Angleterre.

L’origine du Château de Pic est incertaine et serait attribuée à la famille de Pic de la Mirandole lors de sa venue en Guyenne. Cependant, la maison noble dite de Pic est citée dans des textes notariaux depuis 1561 comme propriété de Guillaume Peyrat, Conseiller au Parlement, période à laquelle la majeure partie du château aurait été construite. À cette époque, la principale production tournait autour du « claret », un vin clair issu de l’assemblage du vin rouge avec du vin blanc et principalement destiné aux tables anglaises.

À la fin du XVIe siècle, le Château de Pic se transforme en maison à deux tours d’escalier en angle et occupe pas loin de 50 hectares dont la majorité est consacré à la vigne, comme à ses débuts. Aussi, à l’instar de la plupart des producteurs de vins bordelais, la production s’oriente de plus en plus vers des vins noirs (équivalent des vins rouges contemporains) sous l’influence néerlandaise très forte sur la région à l’époque tout en maintenant la production de « claret ».

Durant la fin du XXe siècle, le Château de Pic a subi de nombreux aménagements, notamment une restauration complète du vignoble et des bâtiments, afin de mieux convenir aux besoins qu’exige la vie moderne.

Vue aérienne du château